Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

Standard

Back-to-School time for the kids and finally for me, as well! 🙂  We celebrated with a candy-jeweled cake created by our oldest daughter, right down to its delicious red velvety core!  There looks to be a lot of new subjects to cover and activities in the works for all of us, so anticipation of first-time classes has been buzzing throughout our house all week!

When I saw the description of this week’s photo challenge theme, I decided to post my new ‘urban’ life on campus.  Monday was my first exposure to the Fine Arts area of the campus, and I was absolutely delighted when I walked to my building atop an amphitheater style of grassy stonescaping, reminiscent of one of my favorite trips abroad to Paris!  It felt like a providential embarking on my life as a professional artist… As corny as it may sound, it was thrilling and put a bounce in my step as I explored my new stomping grounds.  As my kids would so eloquently say… This is gonna be an EPIC year!

The courtyard outside the Fine Arts building of my campus this year.

Place Rene Cassin amphitheater outside the Saint-Eustache Church in Paris (1996).

Positioned at the center of the courtyard, the 70-ton sandstone sculpture “l’Ecoute” (“The Listener”) carved by Henri Miller in 1986.

Ahhh… to return one day to beautiful Paris again…

To join in on the weekly fun of photo challenges, click on…

 Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban

What are your thoughts? Leave a comment...

