Project 2: Less is More, More or Less…

Standard

Project #2 Objective: Complete a set of drawn studies of a simplified object using traditional drawing tools followed by vector production tools. Create a final study of 3 abstracted views of your object on a single page or composition.

So I poured my coffee, pulled the cobwebs off my sketchbook, sharpened my pencil and got into the zone… ahhh yes, welcome home…

I love the details… finding all of the curves and grooves to convey through a drawing… thinking about how I will be able to eventually simplify shapes and forms… okay, remember, no grayscale.  No worries, that should be easy enough. Just need to show the blurry reflection on the rubber handle… but no grayscale… um, okay, stick to the shapes… no that’s not right, maybe try this… I’ll come back to that, let’s go back to my happy place of details. Wow, there is a LOT of detail in this nozzle, why did I choose this thing anyway???  (insert deep cleansing breaths here)

“Hey, Mom, why did you draw our hose?!”

“Because it’s visually interesting, and because I LOVE A CHALLENGE!…”

(Breathing… relaxing… sigh)  “No GRAYscale!  AHHHHHH!!!…                                                                                                                 Okay, I’m already committed here, let’s turn up the music and move on… simplify the details and everyone’s happy…

So then I thought the easy part would be outlining and blackening.  That took a lot more planning than I initially imagined… what an eye-opening process this turned out to be!  I had to re-think how to conceptualize this nozzle. I had to look at it in a totally different way than I would in my normal sketching mode, and then I would start seeing double when I was working in just the black and white.  Experimenting with swapping the positive and negative  elements in each image proved to be much more difficult than originally anticipated, as well.  I had to un-think my visual cues and focus on the simple shapes.

In between my work sessions, I began to notice every day objects in a new and simplified way.  What were the prominent and identifiable shapes embedded in each object?  Logos take on more meaning to me in this perspective… fascinating.

So here are my 6 snippets up for review… Next up, learning Illustrator for Part B!

5 responses »

  1. This is amazing compared to mine… I like it a lot. I wish that I was this good at drawing. Well, that’s why I’m taking the class! Anyway, the details are incredible. When I drew mine, I tried to keep it simple so that I when I re-drew it, it would be easier (staplers are surprisingly complex). I think yours gives many more opportunities for a good variety of abstractions, since the complexity makes it easier to zoom in and get an abstract view, and at many angles, nobody would even guess as to what the original object was. The flip side, is that it looks and sounds like it was a pain to draw, over and over. But still, I like it. I also look at everyday objects differently now, just like you said you did. And furthermore, I cannot tell you how many times I messed something up by experimenting with the negative and positive space.

    Well done.

    • Thanks so much! It’s been a while since I have spent any time on focused sketching, so I was glad to see that I could still tap into those skills. With the tiny details (like the spray holes that surround the individual nozzles), it helps to keep a good Latin beat going… Shakira! Shakira! Yeah, good times…

  2. Michelle! So those 198…well who knows when!…skills are still with you!! I’m impressed 🙂 Isn’t it amazing how one can tap into their creativity after so long?! It’s been nearly 10 years since I was in my last “drawing” class. This is my first class in so many years, and I agree with you that simplifying (abstracting) is not the easiest thing to do, especially as a fellow “studio-art dabbler”. Your sketches look amazing, and I’m sure you will have no problem with experimenting; The beauty of computers is that you can copy, paste, undo, redo, etc. etc (that eraser or smudgy finger is now something you can revisit with your eyeballs on a screen, not just your mind). It’s all a matter of acclimating yourself to new software. For the most part, it proves intuitive and eventually becomes second hand and second nature.

    Your storytelling/writing is also engaging. Is writing something you dabble in too? I look forward to all of it! Thanks for your enthusiasm, and best wishes on revisiting the artist that is Michelle!

  3. Wow! That looks really awesome! I would have not thought of using a water sprayer nozzel for subject matter. You seem to have captured an inordinate and surprising amount of detail. I love the smoothness and maintained perspective of the various sub-elements of the nozzle. I especially like the areas of detail that you selected and zoomed in on. Your object selection provided lots of interesting textures and surfaces.

    Absolutely enjoyable to look at.

What are your thoughts? Leave a comment...

