The Pastel Portal

Standard

Pastel ClassOnce again I am caught up in a whirlwind of projects and classes this semester, but I wanted to take a moment to share my latest work from my pastel class.  I am currently studying under Bonnie Roth, who is a fantastic artist and thought provoking instructor.  Take a browse thru her gallery if you have a few minutes: http://www.bonnierothanderson.com/portrait2.html.  She is broadening my perception of color every week, and I have been thoroughly enjoying the journey!

For this particular piece, we spent 3 sessions with our model, and I must say that I am really enjoying this medium.  I have always loved working in charcoal, so this seems to me a natural progression into the realm of pastels.  I am looking forward to re-working some of my picture book illustrations with some of these new concepts and techniques.  Thanks for stopping by my virtual studio! ;)

4 responses »

  1. This is a BEAUTIFUL interpretation! It’s been a while, Michelle, but just thought I’d stop in a give your “Fitztopia” a look-see. Your journey looks as though it’s been very fruitful!! Well done, all around!

What are your thoughts? Leave a comment...

